• Home
  • Open SUNY Effective Practice Awards Program
Effective Practice

Open SUNY Effective Practice Awards Program

Submit your effective practice!


The Open SUNY Effective Practice Award Program aims to collect, share and showcase the online best practices, strategies, and innovative online teaching and learning activities of exemplary Open SUNY Fellows and online practitioners from across the SUNY system. Entries should include a solid description with examples.

Open SUNY Online Teaching, in collaboration with the University of Central Florida (UCF), sponsors an initiative to recognize excellence in online and blended teaching practices across SUNY in a joint Effective Practices Award Program via the award-winning Teaching Online Pedagogical Repository (TOPR). TOPR is an open public resource hosted by UCF that reviews, selects, and organizes effective online practices for online faculty, instructional designers and other online teaching and learning practitioners. Submissions from SUNY will be submitted for consideration for inclusion in TOPR.

All effective practice submissions will be made available to the Open SUNY Community for review and consideration. The Open SUNY Community will have the opportunity to vote, and the effective practices that earn the most votes will be recognized. The Effective Practice Awards are conferred annually at the Open SUNY Summit.

Timeline for 2018 Submissions (Round 4)

Date    Event
February 22, 2018    Submissions close by end of day
February 23, 2018    Peer Voting opens (closes February 27 @midnight)
February 28, 2018    Winners announced at Open SUNY Summit
April 2018    TOPR entries close
May 22-25, 2018    Award winners showcased at SUNY CIT in Cortland

Congratulations to the 2018 Open SUNY Effective Practices Award Winner (Round 4)!

1st place: Creatively engaged in writing for digital environments, submitted by Eunjyu Yu, SUNY Canton
Honorable mention: Reducing Student Isolation: The Development of a Campus Life Model to Improve Retention Rates of Students in Online Degree Programs, submitted by Molly Mott, SUNY Canton

2017 Award Winners (Round 3):

1st place: Practical Guide to Meaningful Gamification Module, submitted by Deborah Moore-Russo and team, University at Buffalo
2nd place: Using Synchronous Sessions to Build Community and Connect Globally, submitted by Patrice Prusko, Cornell University and Lorette Pellettiere Calix, Empire State College
3rd place: Stop and Pause for Engagement in Online Video Lectures, submitted by Shannon Budin, Buffalo State College
Honorable Mention: Active Learning Classrooms, submitted by Nathan Whitley-Grassi and team, Empire State College

2016 Award Winners (Round 2):

1st – Access MOOC: Designing for ALL Learners – MOOC Team from Buffalo State College & Empire State College
2nd – Creating Accessible Online Classrooms – Kevin Murphy, Binghamton University
3rd – Teaching Online Certification Program – Eric Machan Howd, Binghamton University
4th – Quality by Design (QbD) – Anne Reed, University at Buffalo

2015 Award Winners (Round 1):

1st – Pedagogically Effective Discussion Forums – Bill Pelz, Herkimer College
2nd – Tools of Engagement Project (TOEP) – Roberta (Robin) Sullivan and TOEP Team, University at Buffalo
3rd – BYOC: Build Your Online Course – Kathleen Gradel & Lisa Melohusky, SUNY Fredonia

View all past submissions in the Open SUNY Effective Practice Awards Facebook Group.


Our Faculty Support HelpDesk is available.

Online Support

Submit a Ticket

Our Offices

OS COTE Office Locations